Top Menu

Welcome to The Hard-Lines Extreme Metal Civilization 2009-Now

'EVOCATION' New Full-Length Album 'The Shadow Archetype' will coming out on March 10th,2017, New Song presented

Metal Blade Records is proud to announce that the new album of Swedish Death Metal 'Evocation' titled 'The Shadow Archetype ' will be coming out on March 10th ,2017.  

Regarding the recording process of 'The Shadow Archetype', Guitarist Marco Palmen states:
"We recorded 'The Shadow Archetype' at three different studios.".  Backing vocals, mixing and mastering were done at Dugout Productions. Daniel Bergstrand handled the recording of backing vocals and mixing. George Nerantzis handled the mastering. Drums were recorded at Crehate Studios together with studio engineer Oscar Nilsson. Guitars, bass, and lead vocals were recorded by ourselves at our own studio, Acacia Avenue Recordings. We started recording the drums in late June 2015 and did the last recordings with vocals in June 2016. So, we spent roughly a year in the studio with 'The Shadow Archetype'. In my opinion, the production is our strongest so far. It has all the elements I want in a production; raw brutality with a distinctive punch!"

As with Evocation's past, The Shadow Archetype tackles topics that stem from vocalist/lyricist Josefsson's interest in control themes. Whether it's psychological issues, drug dependencies, sex, the media, or greater, more nefarious government-driven forces at play, songs on the Evocation's fifth full-length read less like teenagers into gore and horror movies and more like observations of a lettered adult. Even the title, The Shadow Archetype, is derived from Swiss psychologist Carl Gustav Jung's theories on psychological archetypes, where we, unwittingly, inherit both good and evil from our predecessors.

Vocalist Thomas Josefson adds "It started on the 'Apocalyptic' album'.  "An idea of an evil empire with plans to enslave the whole planet. When we did the 'Illusions of Grandeur' album, we saw it from the other side, the evil empire's ideas on ruling and controlling. On this album the story starts where this evil force has taken over in the future. It's got a bit of a 'Mad Max' vibe to it. Only the dead will see the end of it!"

Officially, The Shadow Archetype marks Evocation's second go-around with Metal Blade Records. But instead of a third-party deal - Tales from the Tomb, Dead Calm Chaos, Apocalyptic were released in North America on license from German indie Cyclone Empire - this time the ink on the contract is exclusively worldwide. Really, after four dormant years, Evocation has come back with a new lineup, a new album in The Shadow Archetype, and the mighty Metal Blade as their death metal benefactor. If there's anywhere left for the Swedes to go - after 12 years back on the steed of Conquest - it's up.

The new song entitled 'Children of Stone' has been revealed, now you can check in this location

1. Into Ruins  
2. Condemned to the Grave  
3. Modus Operandi  
4. Children of Stone
5. The Coroner  
6. The Shadow Archetype  
7. Blind Obedience  
8. Survival of the Sickest  
9. Sulphur and Blood  
10. Imperium Fall  
11. Dark Day Sunrise

Thomas Josefsson – Vocals
Marko Palmen – Guitars
Simon Exner – Guitars
Gustaf Jorde – Bass

Metal Blade Records
edit by Hephaesthus

Copyright © METALBLEEDINGCORP. Designed by OddThemes & VineThemes